Rabbi Schonbrun’s favorite websites…

Below is an adapted list of a small sampling of Jewish Web Sites shared with me at a Rabbinical Assembly Convention.  Enjoy!

Conservative Movement

Rabbinical Assembly www.rabbinicalassembly.org
Jewish Theological Seminary www.jtsa.eduhttp://www.jtsa.edu/Conservative_Judaism/JTS_Torah_Commentary.xml
American Jewish University http://www.ajula.edu/
United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism www.uscj.orghttp://uscj.org/Jewish_Living__Learn5019.html
Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs http://www.fjmc.org/
Women’s League for Conservative Judaism https://www.wlcj.org
Masorti Olami http://www.masortiworld.org
Masorti Israel http://masorti.org.il/
National Ramah http://www.campramah.org/
Shefa Network http://shefanetwork.blogspot.com/

Conservative Movement Resources

Find a Synagogue in USA http://www.uscj.org/Affiliated_Congregat5493.html
Find a Synagogue in Israel http://www.masorti.org/congregations/map.html
Find a Synagogue International http://www.masortiworld.org/molami/congregations?country=All
Find a Day School http://www.ssdsa.org/?page=directory

 

General Jewish Resources:

My Jewish Learning http://www.myjewishlearning.com/index.shtml
Heb Cal http://hebcal.com/ Generate Hebrew Calendar
Ritual Well http://www.ritualwell.org/ New and Creative Rituals
Jewish Holiday List http://www.uscj.org/Calendar_200820135396.html 5 Year Calendar
G-d Cast http://www.g-dcast.com/ weekly cartoon about the parashah
Spertus Asher Library http://www.spertus.edu/asher_cja/feinberg/index.php For $20/year access bar ilan responsa, Soncino translations of Talmud and Midrash, and other resources.
Jewish Virtual Library http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org lots of jewish resources;
Hebrew U. Library http://www.jnul.huji.ac.il/eng/ Access to many resources of Hebrew U Library
Resources for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Jews http://www.keshetonline.org/
Resources for Interfaith Families http://www.joi.org/

Jewish Education

Davidson School list of resources http://www.jtsa.edu/The_Davidson_School/Davidson_Alumni_Relations/Websites_of_Interest.xml
Berhman House http://www.behrmanhouse.com/teacheducators
Jewish Learning http://www.myjewishlearning.com/

 

Kashrut and Halakhic resources

CJLS Teshuvot http://rabbinicalassembly.org/law/teshuvot_public.html Responsa from the Conservative Movement
Responsa for Today http://www.responsafortoday.com/ Va’ad Halakhah Teshuvot (Conservative Movement in Israel)
Kashrut.com http://www.kashrut.com/agencies/
CRC koher liquor list http://www.crcweb.org/ kosher liquor (for those who use only hechshered wine)
My Zmanim http://www.myzmanim.com Zmanim- earliest and latest times by location
Mayim Hayyim http://www.mayyimhayyim.org/Resources/Community-Mikvaot-in-North-America Lists Conservative Mikvaot

Jewish News and Blogs

Jewish Telegraphic Agency www.jta.org
Jerusalem Post www.jpost.com
Haaretz www.haaretz.com
Yediot Aharonot http://www.ynetnews.com
Jewish Philanthropy http://ejewishphilanthropy.com/
Times of Israel http://www.timesofisrael.com/

 

Liturgy:

Vitrtual Cantor http://virtualcantor.com/
Siddur Audio http://www.sidduraudio.com/about.html Siddur audio project by Rabbi Mark Zimmerman
Kakatuv http://kakatuv.com/ Siddur text with transliteration
Open Siddur Project http://opensiddur.net/ Customize your own siddur
Mechon Hadar http://www.mechonhadar.org/web/guest/audio prayers and nigumin
http://www.mechonhadar.org/niggun-melodies nigunim
http://www.mechonhadar.org/web/guest/document davaning resources and explanations
Zemirot Database http://www.zemirotdatabase.org/ Texts and melodies

Program resources

Jewish Freeware http://jewishfreeware.org Rabbi Barry Dov Lerner, includes downloadable haggadot and other holiday resources.
Morim.org http://www.morim.org/ Program/holiday resources

 

Text:

Biblos http://biblos.com/ Bible translations
Mechon Mamre http://mechon-mamre.org/ Torah Text and other resources
Scroll Scraper http://scrollscraper.adatshalom.net/ Create a tikkun page
E-daf http://www.e-daf.com/ Print pages of Talmud
Jastrow http://www.tyndalearchive.com/tabs/jastrow/ Jastrow dictionary online
Webshas http://www.webshas.org/ Subject Index for Talmud
Torah Resources http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0ASx6sZjO1KzmZDhwbW5jal8xZndoOHJuZ3Q&hl=en Meta-resources. Includes Primary and Secondary Sources
Apocrypha http://www.sacred-texts.com/bib/apo/index.htm Also includes Pseudepigrapha, Josephus, Philo, and other intertestamental literature.

 

Pesach

Rabbinical Assembly Passover Guide

Children’s Resources

JNF http://support.jnf.org/site/PageServer?pagename=edu_home
Babaganewz http://www.babaganewz.com/
URJ http://urj.org/learning/forparents/

 

Weekly Torah Study

http://www.jtsa.edu/Conservative_Judaism/JTS_Torah_Commentary.xml
http://www.ajula.edu/Content/ContentUnit.asp?CID=845&u=8860&t=0
http://www.koach.org/podcasts/twomintorah/index.html
http://www.uscj.org/torah_sparks__weekly5467.html